PORT-OF-SPAIN — The West Indies School of Theology was granted Institutional Accredited Status with the Caribbean Evangelical Theological Association (CETA) for a period of five (5) years after a three day visit conducted on April 14-16, 2014. Institutional Accredited Status is granted to colleges which substantially meet or exceed the Standards of Accreditation set by the Association, and that give evidence of continual striving toward excellence. This determined on the basis of an institutional self-study and external peer evaluation by a team of educators and administrators appointed by the associations Accrediting Commission.

Comprised of more than 40 undergraduate and graduate institutions scattered throughout the three main language areas of the Caribbean region, CETA was founded in 1971 for the purposes of professional association and the development and promotion of standards of excellence in theological education.

Evaluators came from the Caribbean region and beyond, and included Dr. John Lindsey, Academic Dean, Laurel University, USA (Team Chair); Dr. Abson Joseph, Associate Professor of New Testament, Indiana Wesleyan University, USA; Jennifer Contreras, Former Academic Dean, Universidad Teológica del Caribe, Puerto Rico; Claudette Lewis, Bursar, Caribbean Nazarene College, Trinidad & Tobago; Cecelia Spencer, Senior Librarian, Jamaica Theological Seminary & Caribbean Graduate School of Theology, Jamaica.

CETA is a member of the Association of Caribbean Tertiary Institutions (ACTI), the International Council for Evangelical Theological Education (ICETE), the Caribbean Area Network for Quality Assurance in Tertiary Education (CANQATE) and the International Association of Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE).

More details and information about CETA are available online at cetaweb.info.